Moderators can help hold and manage comments users leave on videos or the messages participants send during your streamâs live chat. When creators add a moderator, they can choose whether theyâre a standard moderator or a managing moderator. Managing moderators have more options available to them than standard moderators.
Live chat
- Go to YouTube.com.
- Click Search
and enter the channel name or handle to access the watch page.
- Select a Livestream to enter the Live Chat.
- Click anywhere on the message or 3 dot menu on the right side of the message section to select a moderation action.
As a moderator you can:
Access channel activity: Before taking a moderation action, you can access a userâs public channel user history from the live chat feed first.
Remove content: You can remove any inappropriate or potentially abusive or offensive content. When you delete a message, itâs permanently removed from the live chat with any replies.
Put a user on timeout: You can temporarily prevent a user from sending messages in the live chat, ranging from 10 seconds to up to 24 hours in the following intervals:
- 10 seconds
- 1 minute
- 5 minutes
- 10 minutes
- 30 minutes
- 24 hours
Hide a user: When you hide a user from your channel, their chat messages and comments will no longer be visible to other viewers. YouTube wonât tell the user that you've hidden them.
Live chat participants
In live chat, icons and colors are used to visually identify certain participants. More than 1 icon can appear next to someoneâs username at a time.
