Suggestion: Remove Keep/Undo UI in VSCode Copilot Agent #185857
Replies: 5 comments 1 reply
|
💬 Your Product Feedback Has Been Submitted 🎉 Thank you for taking the time to share your insights with us! Your feedback is invaluable as we build a better GitHub experience for all our users. Here's what you can expect moving forward ⏩
Where to look to see what's shipping 👀
What you can do in the meantime 💻
As a member of the GitHub community, your participation is essential. While we can't promise that every suggestion will be implemented, we want to emphasize that your feedback is instrumental in guiding our decisions and priorities. Thank you once again for your contribution to making GitHub even better! We're grateful for your ongoing support and collaboration in shaping the future of our platform. ⭐ |
|
The last Reddit link I found https://www.reddit.com/r/GithubCopilot/comments/1ovnns5/vsc_keep_showing_editor_keepundo_choice_ui_though/ gave a suggested workaround: Change the It does now show a "Keep" / "Review" UI for a brief period of time, but that will go away quickly. I'd prefer to no UI to ever display at all, but this will be an OK workaround for me. (It's not easily discoverable, though.) |
|
I wish you could just turn this off 😑 |
|
We need a way to disable this in Visual Studio Community and Visual Studio Professional.
|

Uh oh!
There was an error while loading. Please reload this page.
Select Topic Area
Product Feedback
Copilot Feature Area
Copilot Coding Agent
Body
I would like an option to disable the "Keep"/"Undo" prompts for modifications created by Copilot Agent (and simply have the changes immediately written to disk).
When I instruct GitHub Copilot to make a change using "Agent" mode in the chat panel in VSCode, it makes all the changes that I requested, but annotates each one with "Keep" and "Undo" UI.
There are buttons by each change, buttons at the bottom of the editor window, and buttons at the bottom of the chat panel.
This feels far too "chatty" to me. I don't actually want to go through all the changes one-by-one at this time, keeping or undoing them in isolation. If the changes are wrong, I will enter a new prompt and have it rewrite them.
Meanwhile, it's persisted all the changes to disk so I could just use git to revert changes if I needed to:
I can understand the usefulness of this UI for new Copilot Agent users, or those who are running Copilot on a non-version-controlled directory. But for more advanced users (and particularly those who are tracking changes in git) it seems unnecessary. Thus I would like an option to disable it.
This may be related to this earlier discussion: https://github.com/orgs/community/discussions/184526
It has also been asked/suggested by users in other forums:
All reactions